Directions to The Market Theatre Foundation, The Market Square
138 Lilian Ngoyi (previously Bree) Street, between Miriam Makeba and Margaret Mcingana streets

Co-ordinates: -26.201984, 28.032706

1. Take Jan Smuts Ave off ramp from M1 south.
2. Continue over Empire Rd, past Wits and over Mandela Bridge.
3. At the first traffic light after the Mandela Bridge, turn right into Carr Street.
4. At the next traffic light turn left into Miriam Makeba Street.
5. At the third traffic light turn right into Rahima Moosa (previously Jeppe) street.
6. At the next road turn right into Margaret Mcingana street. Mary Fitzgerald Square will be on your left. You can park in this street and you will find our second entrance, the student entrance, is in the middle of this block, co-ordinates -26.202303, 28.032528.
7. At the next traffic light turn right into Lilian Ngoyi street. The entrance to the Market Square will be on your right.

Directions to the Market Theatre and / or public parking for the Theatre or the Market Square:

Co-ordinates: -26.200834, 28.032294

1. Take Jan Smuts Ave off ramp from M1 south.
2. Continue over Empire Rd, past Wits and over Mandela Bridge.
3. At the first traffic light after the Mandela Bridge, turn right into Carr Street.
4. At the next traffic light turn left into Miriam Makeba Street.
5. At the next traffic light turn right into the Newtown Junction Mall road, City Lodge Hotel on the right.
6. Continue to the right around the traffic circle into the Mall’s underground parking garage.
7. When you come out of the parking garage using the lift or escalator the Market Theatre is to the east of the parking area in the direction of the water fountain in the Mall’s square. Walk past The Potato Shed and through the gate. Then turn right towards the Market main entrance. Please ask the security / ushers if you feel unsure.
8. To get to the Market Square, continue past the Market Theatre building, cross the road (Lilian Ngoyi Street) and you will see the Market Square entrance towards your left – diagonally across the road from the Market Theatre building.

Reception

Tel: 011 832 1641/2/3

Box Office times

The Market Theatre’s Chief Executive Officer Ismail Mahomed is a firm advocate for the theatre industry to be more customer-centric to ensure that theatres can benefit from improved customer experiences, repeat business and customer loyalty to grow sustainability.

The revised seven day operational hours for the Market Theatre box office is:

Monday
Tuesday to Saturday
Sunday

09h00 to 16h00
09h00 to 20h30
12h00 to 16h00

Theatre patrons can also make telephonic bookings during the above operating hours by calling 011 832 1641

Audience Development

Anthony Ezeoke: Tel: 011 832 1641 ext 203
Cell: 083 246 4950
Email: AnthonyE@markettheatre.co.za

Brand and Communications Manager

Zama Sweetness Buthelezi: Tel: 0118321641 ext 155
Email: ZamaB@markettheatre.co.za

Customer Care and Front of House

Thabisile Thuli Hlaneke ext. 101
Email: Thulih@markettheatre.co.za

Mavis Nengovhela Tel: 0118321641 ext. 102
Email: mavisN@markettheatre.co.za

Market Photo Workshop

Lekgetho Makola Tel: 011 834 1444 Fax: 011 834 1447
Email: LekgethoM@marketphotoworkshop.co.za

Market Laboratory

Clara Vaughan Tel: 011 838 7498
E-mail: clara@marketlab.co.za

Fundraising

Penny Morris Tel: 011 880 7204 Cell: 082 372 2683
Email: PennyM@markettheatre.co.za

Producer

Zodwa Shongwe Tel: 011832 1641 ext 209
zodwas@markettheatre.co.za

Project Administrators (Productions)

Mvuzo Mfobo: Tel: 011 832 1641 ext 211
Email: MvuzoM@markettheatre.co.za

Seipati Ncube: 011 832 1641 ext 212

Zwakala Festival

Sipho Mwale: Tel: 011 832 1641 ext 210
Email: SiphoM@markettheatre.co.za 

Artistic Director

James Ngcobo Tel: 0118321641 ext 216
JamesN@markettheatre.co.za

For theatre hire and script submissions email proposals to:
proposals@markettheatre.co.za

Media Liason

Lusanda Zokufa Tel: 0118321641 ext 202
LusandaZ@markettheatre.co.za

Sign up to receive The Market Buzz.